Butterflies Taking Flight

Hot off the press, my new 3D book, just finished! I’ve really enjoyed working with these images as there was some scope to allow the butterflies to ‘take flight’ and escape the confines of the pages.

A Handbook to the Order Lepidoptera - side view

The book was published in 1896 and the soft, slightly muted colours are quite typical of that era. On my hunts for old books suitable for my work, I’ve come across volumes on butterflies with the images entirely in black and white, which to me somehow misses the point.

lepid_detail_high res

2 thoughts on “Butterflies Taking Flight

  1. I’m catching up on the SF Artbusiness site’s posts from February and saw a show he covered that included this piece.

    Awesome work!

Leave a Reply

